neglect

Somewhere along the line I decided to neglect my blog.
It wasn’t intentional it just happened.
No harm was intended. My blog and I talked it out, we’re cool, so just get over it.
In the midst of my absence there has been a pileup of things to post about. A horde of topics, complete with smelly old hoarding lady and house full of dead cats and pickle jar lids
So in order to get this house in order lets just go….

I did another piece for The Covered Blog. This time around I picked Silver Surfer #8. Revel in it’s Ghostiness….
Here’s the original….

and here’s mine….

What else, what else???
I did another Dig cover. This one’s kind of a metaphor for my life. (<——that's sort of a joke?)
Surrounded by dogs and the ramblings in my head.
My own idea of happiness.
So for this one I’ve included a bit of process so you can get an idea of what goes on….






Speaking of The Dig, this January marked the first year of What’s for Breakfast?. A whole year of weekly comics. Some have been good, some not so much.
You win some you lose some.
But for the most part I’m happy with what I’ve turned out. I always wondered if a weekly strip is something I could keep up with, and there’s been a week or two where I’ve been sitting in front of a blank piece of paper hours before the deadline shrieking at the heavens for a good idea, but for the most part I always have a backlog of ideas. I write them down in a notebook and sometimes when I’m overlooking my notes I wonder what the hell I was thinking.
My favorite least favorite idea jotted down that will never be made into a comic is…
“aardvark in class upset about alphabetical order.”
The reason I brought all of that up is that What’s for Breakfast? now has it’s own website where you can check out all of the strips I’ve done so far. ——->whats4breakfast.com

When I was a teenager
A very angry teenager
This poster hung in my room…

So when the fellas at Angioplasty Media were all “Hey you wanna do a ticket design for an upcoming Thurston Moore show??” I was like “yeah!”
The idea behind the ticket was that the people who attended the show would leave with a souvenir print/ticket. This is what I came up with…

Toss it through the old bleep box and this is what came out.

The tickets were printed by the good folks at New Duds. They also print some amazing t-shirts/sweatshirts/etc. go check out their stuff!!
Here are a couple of photos of the tickets being printed…



….and finally you may remember I did a piece for the Vessel Collective- Say Anything Interview and Illustration project a while ago…

All of the pieces done for the project (13 in all) were to be based on songs from Say Anything’s self titled record.
I was recently asked to do another one. This time for the song Crush’d. Here’s a sketch..


and here’s the final piece…

An exhibit was Held at Roosevelt 2.0 in Tampa FL from 3/12-3/16 with all of the pieces on display. (Once I have pictures of the event I’ll post those too.)

So that’s it.
I’ll have a table at Boston ComicCon this year. Splitting a table with Brian “Nothing Mattress” Connolly. It’ll be April 21-22 at The Hynes Convention Center.
I’ll also be back at this year’s Broke!!! It’ll be on June 9 in Peterborough NH. It’s an art fair where everything is sold for $50 or less. The artists are all amazing, the food is always fantastic. Stop by and check it out.

Aside from that I’m tapped out. I have a bunch of new sketchbook pages to post soon, as well as some other stuff. I’m working on some really exciting things right now, but that’s a story for another time….

About pattkelley

steerage on the Titanic.
This entry was posted in illustration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

