What am I going to do without you? (one year later)

So there’s this dead dinosaur that some kids find in the woods. Stop me if you’ve heard this one before….


I finished my first graphic novel on Monday. It took just under a year to complete all 122 pages, and I really can’t believe that I’m done with it.
It’s called “What am I Going to Do Without You?”. It’s a story about life and death, with the dinosaur serving as a backdrop for the three groups of characters and the events that are about to unfold.
There’s this girl Katrina who has a dog called Lilly.

and Jeanie.
A goth girl vs her mother…..

and the world

Then there’s Murray and Flo who just found out that Murray is sick.

It’s about what we do when we’re thrown a curveball, and what we learn from it.

I started a graphic novel about five years ago called “Pan”, about a boy born wearing a pair of pants. It was a roadtrip story about a kid in a messed up situation looking for something better. I never made it past the 25th page and today it sits underneath my desk collecting dust. Done in a style that barely represents what I do today it’s something that if I ever wanted to revisit I’d have to completely do over and I’m not sure I want to do that.

All of the time that I poured into it and it died. I didn’t want that to happen again. So I stuck it out, and came up with something that I’m genuinely proud of. I poured my heart into this thing, and it payed off.

I was out today walking the dogs and realized I’m done. I’ll never see any of these characters again the way I had this past year, and I miss them.
Is that weird?
Maybe I just miss the routine. We are creatures of habit, are we not? In the past few months I’ve been working out a new story in my head, and I think it’s good. Once I’m done with all of the post production stuff with this book I’ll be starting on the next one. (more info soon)

It’s been a really cool experience, and I can’t wait to do it again. My goal is to get it published. I’ll be printing a few copies and sending them out to comic publishers who I respect and who put out cool books. Hopefully, fingers crossed, we’ll get this puppy made.

I originally posted sketches of the first six pages on September 20th of last year here, and then later posted those finished pages in a different post here.

About pattkelley

steerage on the Titanic.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What am I going to do without you? (one year later)

  1. Dan says:

    Man, that looks amazing. Congratulations on finishing it. No publisher, in their right minds, could possibly turn it down. Can’t wait to buy it!

  2. jbinks says:

    I can’t wait to hold this book in my arms and cry, like the old lady holding the old man in the title panel. sniff. sniff. looks amazing man, congrats!

Leave a Reply

