Margot Tenenbaum and other fictional girls

“stand up straight. let me get a look at you.”
That scene blows me away every time I see it. Wes Anderson’s movies make me happy.
A while back I did a series called Ladies of Film. Five pieces depicting various female characters from movies, and of course I did a Margot Tenenbaum piece. How could I not? From her raccoon eyes and missing finger to her extreme secrecy, I am completely enamored with her.

I also did pieces of Diane Arbus from Fur, Lisa from Girl Interrupted, Ripley from Aliens, and Rosemary from Rosemary’s Baby.

I’ve been thinking about getting a new body of work together for a future exhibit, and wanted to kind of adapt the Ladies of Film idea. The show will be called Fictional Girls, and will be my take on fictional girls from film and television.The last thing I’d want to do is a masturbatory ode to hot chicks, that’s not what it’s about. I love Margot Tenenbaum, but could care less about Gwyneth Paltrow. I’m sure she’s a great person, but she’s not Margot. My goal is to make some beautiful renditions of the characters, not the actresses who play them. Hollywood without the movies is awful and boring.
That being said my Diane and Lisa paintings are out, where as the characters are both based on real people. I’m not too fond of the Ripley (maybe I’ll do a new one). Rosemary’s in, probably my favorite painting in the series. Then there’s Margot. She’s the one piece that I no longer have. “Fictional Girls” can’t exist without Margot.
We need Margot.
So I made this…..


Aside from Rosemary and Margot I have two other paintings completed. Charlotte from Lost in Translation and Joan from Mad Men. I have a HUGE list of others. The exhibit will be a mix, some watercolors, some sculptures. My plan is to have it done and hopefully in a gallery by May.

About pattkelley

steerage on the Titanic.
This entry was posted in work in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Margot Tenenbaum and other fictional girls

  1. Kate says:

    If someone hasn’t done so already, I’d like to call dibs on the Charlotte / Lost in Translation piece. One of my favorite film characters ever! Seriously, I will totally buy this when/if you make it.

  2. Kate says:

    Guh, I’m an idiot. Rather, I’d like to buy this piece once you’re done showing it, or a print if someone’s already claimed it.

    • pattkelley says:

      Of course. You have official dibs. I’ll keep you updated as to whats going on w/ the project, and once I scan everything I’ll send along a scan of Charlotte, and if you’re still interested in buying it I’ll let you know the details.

Leave a Reply

