once, twice, three times a lady….

About a week ago a friend told me about a circus/freak themed art show happening in Pasadena. Artist pals feel free to check out the details HERE.

So I decided to come up with some new pieces, and for the first wanted to do something based on Alice Doherty; The Minnesota Woolly Baby.

I bought this photo of her about a year ago, and find her to be one of the most fascinating human oddities although not a whole lot is known about her. She was born in 1887 and suffered from the same condition as Jojo the Dog Faced Boy. (hypertrichosis).
So around Wednesday I finished this…..

watercolor and ink on bristol
17×11″

The type was really really really off, and although I was reasonably happy with the image knew I had to redo it. So…..

watercolor and ink on bristol
17×11″

Even happier with the image, but again really fucked up the type. Aaaaaarrrgh!!
I chalked it up to a long week of dogwalking in weather comparable to that on the surface of the sun. My brain was on hiatus. I spent the weekend on my butt and it felt good. I didn’t even mind the warning signs of my ever impending leg atrophy.
I decided to put the whole circus poster thing on hold and do a conceptual piece. (aka, I decided to avoid any and all type) I already had the basic image I wanted to use, spruced it up a little and…..

“one night she counted them all”
watercolor and ink on bristol
9×12″

Finally happy.
Thanks Alice.

Do you want to own the first two paintings for only $20 each????
They’re up in my etsy store.

Take 1: http://www.etsy.com/listing/51301544/alice-doherty-take-1
Take 2: http://www.etsy.com/listing/51301765/alice-doherty-take-2

About pattkelley

steerage on the Titanic.
This entry was posted in illustration. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

