Circus in the Woods

a work in progress…..
So a while ago I came up with this drawing of a boy half-buried in the earth. Sprouting from the ground like a dandelion.
I was born like this.
I’ll probably die like this
I don’t know where the idea came from, but there it was. I’ve looked at it for the past year or so now and had to do something else with it.
Parasitic Twin book 2 has been on hold for a bit now. Because of an influx of work to do it’s been sitting on the shelf for quite a while. (I had originally intended on putting it out in February) It was supposed to just be the remaining Parasitic Twin strips that didn’t make it into the first book. So, I decided to do a new story exclusively for the second book. I immediately thought of my tree boy. Ladies and Gentlemen meet Douglas Fir; The Tree Boy (also called the Human Stump)…..

The story called “Circus in the Woods” is about a travelling circus that finds a boy growing from the ground in the middle of the woods. I’m happy with the story, and it’s looking good so far. Below are three penciled panels .(pre-watercolor, pre-ink)

So I’m hoping to be sending it to print within a month. Yee Haw!!
It should be out by the end of the summer. Turnaround time last time was about a month.
I’ve also spoken with JB Sapienza III, esq. about doing a page for the back. So it should be a pretty cool book. More to come….

To own the original sketchbook drawing of Douglas for a mere $20
Go here——> http://www.etsy.com/listing/51176424/i-was-born-like-this-will-probably-die

About pattkelley

steerage on the Titanic.
This entry was posted in work in progress. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Circus in the Woods

  1. Dan says:

    Patt, this is such a fucked up idea. I love it.

  2. Pingback: Steerage on the Titanic

Leave a Reply

